Blog Award / Writing

Liebster Award

This is extremely late, but better late than never, right? Last month Bridgett nominated me for a Liebster Award, which is apparently an award that’s given by bloggers to other bloggers, specifically those with under 1,000 followers, as a means of drawing people to new blogs and earning more followers for those people. Kinda neat!

The Rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and link to their blog.
  2. Answer the 11 questions your nominator gave you.
  3. Tag 11 bloggers with less than 1,000 readers.
  4. Think of 11 questions for the bloggers you have nominated.
  5. Let them know you have nominated them through social media or their blog.

I’m not sure I’ll be able to think of 11 people, but I’ll certainly try! Next up, Bridgett’s questions. Fair warning, I’m not capable of being succinct.

1. What music gets you in the mood for writing?

It depends on the project. Music is a big part of writing for me, and I always have playlists or artists that I listen to while working on it. My main projects right now are finishing the first draft of Parthenon, my NaNo project involving mythological figures in a militantly atheist setting, and editing the ghost story (aka HAUNTED).

For Parthenon, I’ve been listening to Marianas Trench’s newest album, Astoria, Shinedown’s Threat to Survival, Red’s Of Beauty and Rage, and a lot of stuff by Nothing But Thieves, with a hefty dash of Queen and Styx, among others.

HAUNTED is a very different book, though (contemporary horror while Parthenon is fantasy set in an alternate version of our world), and so the music is different too, though there’s some overlap (pretty sure Red is on that playlist, too). Big players on that playlist include Delta Rae (Carry the Fire and After It All are both excellent albums), Agnes Obel, Noah Gundersen’s album Carry the Ghost, and Abel Korzeniowski’s terriic score to the first season of the TV show Penny Dreadful.

Sorry, I have a lot of feelings about music. Moving on!

2. In your opinion what is the best thing you’ve written so far?

That’s really hard to say. I like challenging myself to try new things–of my most recent projects, they range from urban fantasy to horror to low fantasy to… you get the idea–and they’re all very different in their own right. I don’t know that I can stack them all up and pick one that I would call the “best.” I’m proud of each, but for different reasons.

3. Have you accomplished your goals for 2015?

More or less? “On va dire,” as they say in French…

4. What is one thing you want to see happen in 2016?

I’d like a new job, preferably in the field I actually studied. And finishing off some lingering projects would be good, too. I’ve got a few on the back burner…

5. What is your favorite book you read this year?

At the time of this question, it was still 2015… It’s hard to remember them all, but I think The Wars by Timothy Findley stands out. As for 2016… so far, probably either Heir of Fire or Queen of Shadows, both by S.J. Maas, or Feverborn, by Karen Marie Moning.

(I’m bad at picking favourites, can you tell?)

6. Coffee or tea?

Now this is a no brainer. Teeeeeea! I’m a fan of the smell of coffee, but not so much the taste. Tea, on the other hand… I have yet to find a kind I won’t drink.

7. Have you visited anywhere exciting in the past year? Where?

Nothing that comes to mind. It was a pretty quiet year in terms of travel.

8. What is your favorite thing about blogging/writing?

Well, they’re two different things–I like blogging because one, it lets me share my stories with people, and two, because when I blog about the chronic condition I have, it lets other people know that they aren’t alone. Also the comments on blog posts are like crack for this introvert. Just saying.

9. What would you do if you won a million dollars?

Pay off my student loans and all other debts owed by myself or my family members, buy my dad his dream house in the middle of nowhere, get my license, buy a car, buy a new pair of glasses… and probably go on a books and music shopping spree. Oh, and a new computer. Or two.

I think that would probably eat it all.

10. What book would you like to see made into a movie?

I don’t think there is one, to be perfectly honest. I like books and I like movies, but I like them as things separate from each other. For me, they serve different purposes.

11. What is your current favorite TV show?

This is a bad question to ask me, since I very rarely watch any TV and I think I’m currently only caught up on one.. probably Penny Dreadful, though Once Upon a Time is also a lot of fun.

My Nominees:

Ellie at The Hungry Silverfish

Jess at mixeduppainter

Josee at brinkofmyinsanity

And, um… I’m bad at coming up with people for these things, so anybody with fewer than 1,000 followers who wants to take part! Just make sure to let me know that you’re doing it!

My Questions:

  1. What’s the last song you listened to and why do you like it (or dislike it, as the case may be)?
  2. Is there a story you want to write but don’t think you could do properly? What is it?
  3. Give me a line that you wrote and really like, and tell me why you like it.
  4. What do you do when writing isn’t working?
  5. What are you currently reading and are you enjoying it?
  6. When writing is going well, what’s your favourite thing about it?
  7. Why did you decide to start a blog?
  8. What’s your stance on music while writing? Do you like it, do you need silence, or something else altogether?
  9. Tell me about your ideal writing conditions.
  10. Which of your own characters do you think you’re most like?
  11. Which of your characters do you think you’re least like?

And that’s a wrap! Thanks again, Bridgett, and to anybody else who gives it a try, have fun!

Cheers,

Murphy

Leave a Reply

