A to Z Blogging Challenge / April A to Z Challenge / Blog Challenge / H(A)UNTED

P is for Psychology

Click the photo for more on the challenge!

This post is part of the April A-Z Blogging Challenge, wherein participants blog throughout the month according to the letters of the alphabet. For more on the challenge, click here

Note: If anyone wondered, I tagged the blog as having adult content due to a few factors: one, strong language; two, the possibility that excerpts I post may have graphic descriptions of sex or violence and therefore unappealing to some readers. Never fear, though, I’ll be sure to warn y’all if a post of that nature comes up! In the meantime, feel free to read on!

Cheers and happy ABC’ing,

Murphy

=o=o=o=

Psychology is a fun subject, at least for me. I studied behavioural science for three years, and often get a blank look when I tell people that. When I explain that it’s derived from the behavioural modification school of psychology, though, people usually understand a bit more.

As writers, though, regardless of educational background, we have to get into our characters’ heads. I find it amusing that readers look at us sideways when we talk about our characters like real people. They want to read authentic characters, don’t they?

For H(A)UNTED, Darcy may be the narrator, but she’s not the only person whose motives I have to understand. I have to think about Gage, about Noah, even about Eliza, Beatrice, Jack, and other long-dead characters. What choices did they make that led to a ghost story with enough potency to bring Darcy around to check it out a hundred years later? What’s keeping them from a restful afterlife? And the present-day characters—why is Noah, a retired cop, content to work as a bartender in his hometown? Why isn’t Darcy worried about this ghost? What’s happened in Gage’s past that he feels the need to question Darcy’s reason for spending time with him? Figuring this stuff out is enough to give anyone a headache, but I’m hopeful that it’ll pay off in the form of a good story.

… In the meantime, I’m just wondering what I’ve gotten myself into and spend a lot of time muttering to myself and facepalming.

4 thoughts on “P is for Psychology

  1. I know that feeling. I’m completely tearing apart a bunch of stories now to get inside the heads of the characters to make them better. They’re all getting muddled together so I think I’m going to have to switch my focus to one at a time. But it’s always fun to tell people I hear voices in my head at times. They tend to think I’m crazier than I already am.

    • I get the same reaction, which is why I’ve made friends with so many writers. Safety in numbers and all that. We can’t ALL be crazy… 😉

    • Yup. Something I’ve heard other writers talk about is knowing exactly how the character ends the story. Never had that happen to me until Darcy strolled in. I know what the end of her story is and just have to work my way back to it.

Leave a Reply

