A to Z Blogging Challenge / April A to Z Challenge / Blog Challenge / H(A)UNTED

E is for Escapism

Bear with my slow posts, folks. I’m working from mobile internet. 🙂

This post is part of the April A-Z Blogging Challenge, wherein participants blog throughout the month according to the letters of the alphabet. For more on the challenge, click here

Note: If anyone wondered, I tagged the blog as having adult content due to a few factors: one, strong language; two, the possibility that excerpts I post may have graphic descriptions of sex or violence and therefore unappealing to some readers. Never fear, though, I’ll be sure to warn y’all if a post of that nature comes up! In the meantime, feel free to read on!

Cheers and happy ABC’ing,

Murphy

=o=o=o=

Any well-written novel gives you the feeling of escape. That sense that you’ve slid directly into the story’s world and out of your own, leaving all of your own problems pushed to the back of your mind, even if it’s only temporary. Sooner or later, you’ll have to emerge and go back to the “real” world.

The thing about this novel is that I want it to have that sense of escapism, but also an unimpeachable hold on reality. When you finish reading this book, I want you to be bewildered about where you are—and maybe a little afraid about what could be coming for you. I want you to sleep with the lights on for a few nights because the story and the characters got into your head. I want you to curse yourself for ever picking the book up, and me for writing it. I want you to get away from your problems.

But I want you to be scared. Just remember that. 😉

4 thoughts on “E is for Escapism

  1. Escapism is such a necessary thing, I think. We need those little brain breaks from the world around us. It’s good if the memory of the story lingers with us as well, as it looks like yours will. 🙂

    • I’m glad you agree! Hopefully soon I’ll get around to commenting on more posts myself. Moving is taking all my time. >_<

Leave a Reply

