Blog Hop / Coffin Hop / Giveaway / Halloween / Horror

Kicking off the Coffin Hop

Coffin Hop--making those coffins shake, October 24-31!

Coffin Hop–making those coffins shake, October 24-31!

Holy hoppin’ hellhounds, is it time for Coffin Hop already?!

I suppose it is! Let’s kick open the doors of these dusty ol’ coffins and celebrate, boys and girls!

If you don’t recall the shenanigans that went on last year, well, I’m not going to go into too much detail, because I have yet to deliver on one of my prizes from last year. *facepalm* (Jason, if you’re reading this, I swear I’m going to abandon my insane ideas of sending you the handwritten mess and just type the damn thing. Before November hits and I get swallowed up by NaNo.) The lesson I learned from that? Don’t offer short bits of my own writing as prizes unless said writing is already complete. I mean, really. (And apparently, the postal service doesn’t appreciate severed heads, either.)

So, with these wise lessons behind me, what are we doing this year? I’m ever so glad you asked.

Last year, I kind of focused on fear itself. This year, we’re focusing on a specific aspect: psychological horror. What can I say? As someone who studied behaviour, I get my kicks—when it comes to terrifying people—out of messing with their heads. I want people doubting everything they thought was true, questioning their own sanity, wondering what scary ghoulie is going to come out of the night’s gaping maw and swallow them whole… and then I want to pull out the complete opposite of what they’re expecting.

Of course, I don’t do this on a regular basis. That, I’m told, is “unethical.”

(No, seriously… you guys know when I’m kidding, right?)

Here’s how the Coffin Hop is going to work. Along with a whole bunch of other writers, I’m going to post stuff and give you guys the option to win stuff. Like what? Well, for example, like an ebook copy of the new Death by Drive-In anthology, featuring scary stuff from several fabulous Coffin Hoppers! I’ve got a couple other things cooking, too, but, well, we need to keep some surprises, don’t we? How else am I supposed to scare your pants off, short of showing up first thing in the morning before I’ve brushed my teeth or hair?

I hope you guys are excited, because I sure am. I’ll be back a little closer to the weekend with more Coffin Hop and more things to win, but in the meantime be sure to visit the rest of the Hoppers —several of them are already offering prizes, and all of them are amazing. For now, I’ll leave you with this little video. If you’ve never heard of this web video, meet Lenore the Cute Little Dead Girl. She is based on Edgar Allan Poe’s Lenore, and she might just be my favourite cute little dead girl ever. This is one of my favourite episodes. I am, to this day, incapable of cooking/eating fish without announcing “Pook! Pook! Pook!”

(If you’re interested, the continuation of that episode is here.)

I just want to know one thing before I go: What gets right inside your head and scares the ever-lovin’ stuffing out of you?

… It’s entirely relevant, I swear. And comments count towards winning a prize!

Cheers and get ready to hop,

Murphy

30 thoughts on “Kicking off the Coffin Hop

    • Thanks. It’s not mine, but I love it. A friend has Ragamuffin and Lenore tattooed on his arm. : )

      Thanks for stopping by! Happy Coffin Hop!

  1. I would say one thing that scares the crap out of me, psychologically speaking, is the thought of losing control of my actions. I found “Fight Club” immensely disturbing in that way–having an alternate personality running amok while the “real you” doesn’t realize it is terrifying.

    • I find this true of a lot of psychological things. Studying Alzheimer’s Disease was troubling to me. The idea of losing that much of myself terrifies me.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I’m afraid of the dark. Usual night “dark” is fine. It’s the thought of never seeing light again – ever. I’ve had eye surgeries, so I’m familiar with the concept in days or weeks, but “until the end of time” is what haunts me in my dreams.

    • I agree there. That scares the crap out of me too. As a writer with chronic pain issues, the idea of losing my sight or my hands’ motor skills kind of terrifies me.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Spiders really creep me out. I prefer reading about them because my imagination can really make them scary but usually in a movie they just aren’t as believable.

    • That’s the problem with movies for me. It’s always scarier in the books because my imagination goes haywire, and movie technology just doesn’t live up to the brain of a writer! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I scare myself silly. I don’t even need help doing it. Everything could be just sunshine and unicorns and then I wonder if there is anything standing behind me. Holy hell, I can’t even turn around to look.

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one who does this! Usually when all is going well I think to myself “Now, this is right about the point in a book/movie where everything goes to hell…”

  5. Happy Hopping, young lady! Hope you’re having fun! By the way, you have won Satan’s ToyBox: Terrifying Teddies at Angelic Knight Press. There’s some good reading there. you have a great blog here. I’m off to share it.

    Blaze

    • Oh, yeah… what scares me…
      Sore feet, now.

      My downfall is ‘scary faces’. Positive that the night will come when I forget to avoid mirrors, or any reflective surface, and there will be a FACE (picture the creatures from the HUSH episode of Buffy) either standing behind me, or just looking directly into me.
      ::shivers::

      Happy hopping!!
      P, L, & N
      ~sg

      • I used to babysit kids, and with all the B-horror movies out there.. it was a definite thought!

        Thanks for stopping by! Happy Hopping!

    • Happy to inspire! Ever since I posted the video, my roomie and I have been randomly yelling “I don’t wanna get naked with the bears! And stop trying to stick that in me!”

  6. Hey, L.M. How’s it going? Are you enjoying the Hop?
    Hmm? Wait a minute. If we tell you what scares us, you’re going to use it against us like good old Hannibal Lechter, right? Not falling for that trick! I would never tell you that The Amityville Horror is the scariest book I’ve ever read, or that The Exorcist stays with me for about two days after I watch it… What? I’m sorry? I just told you what?
    Damn! You’re good. 😉

    -Jimmy

    • I always loves me a good Coffin Hop. =D

      *looks up from writing down your answers* Oh, I know I am, honey. Bwahahaha! Happy Hopping, Jimmy!

  7. Now that you mention it, Alzheimer’s Disease is just about one of the scariest things I can think of… I watched my mother’s partner at the time, a well respected and published scientist, lecturer, brilliant mind and man of compassion, decay into a degenerative state akin to an animal in the space of less than five years, and he wasn’t even sixty. That was truly horrifying to watch unfold 😦 (Sorry that was a bit heavy, but it’s hard to think of anything else now…)

    • I don’t blame you, Brewin, it’s kinda my fault. 😛 My stepdad’s mom has it, so I’m not really close enough to her to see a lot of the changes, but it certainly makes things unsettling at times. =/

      Happy Coffin Hop!

Leave a Reply

