A to Z Blogging Challenge / April A to Z Challenge / Blog Challenge / Books / Camp NaNoWriMo / Challenges / Impartials and Immortals / The Sharpest Lives / Writing

#AtoZ: Y is for Yeats

Howdy, gang! This is going to be a short post due to the fact that I’m behind on even my 20,000-word Camp NaNoWriMo goal. Normally I’m far enough behind that I give up; right now I’m actually close enough that I might rally and make it. So here we go!

Whether you have a favourite poet or whether you don’t know of any poets at all, you might have heard of W.B. Yeats. An Irish poet who was alive for the tumult of the early 20th century, much of his writing dealt with the topics of the 1916 Rising, the War of Independence of 1919-1921, and the Civil War of 1922-1923. Some of my characters lived through that conflict and some didn’t; however, all of them are enmeshed in another area Yeats wrote about frequently: Fae myths.

Several of his poems, whether about Ireland’s independence or old folklore, resonate both with me and with my characters. Two poems in particular stand out for different characters, sometimes as their views of others, sometimes as how I see them. The first is more well-known:

For he comes, the human child
To the waters and the wild
With a faery, hand in hand
From a world more full of weeping than he can understand

And the second, maybe not so well-known:

Those that I fight I do not hate,
Those that I guard I do not love

The poems are, respectively, “The Stolen Child” and “An Irish Airman Foresees His Death.” No, I’m not telling you what character they apply to. But I do encourage you to check out more of Yeats’ work and to drop me a line in the comments with the name of any poets you enjoy. 🙂

8 thoughts on “#AtoZ: Y is for Yeats

  1. I like it. You make the English major in me happy 🙂

    Right now I’m reading Wendell Berry and am in love with his original and thought-provoking poetry.

Leave a Reply

