A to Z Blogging Challenge / Announcement / April A to Z Challenge / Blog Challenge / Books / Impartials and Immortals / Numbers / Writing

#AtoZ: N is for Numbers

Welcome back, gang! As promised, I’m trying to bring in a bit more levity today. And the first thing I have to say is that the song I mentioned in yesterday’s post would be “The Galway Girl,” a popular Irish folk song that Steve Earle has recorded. 🙂

Without further ado, here we go!

Seeing as the writer hates math and has never made any secret of this, you wouldn’t think there’d be much in the way of numbers in a series of books like this. There are, though; granted, it ties back to the history of it in that a lot of those numbers will be years, long past or recent memory, and dates distant or recent. But the numbers are still there, and they still matter.

There’s also, of course, the number of years between Tithes: seven. Or the number of books in the series itself. That you’re more than welcome to guess at; I’m not revealing it until the end of this challenge. *evil grin* Yes, that’s right. I’m a tease.

So, on that note, I’m leaving you with a snippet. Here are Gwen’s feelings when it comes to numbers.

“Why is it always seven years?” she burst out furiously, scrambling to a rock with her boots in hand to sit and yank them on. “The Tithe. Selkies. Any number of other Fae myths, I’m sure.” She glared at him as if demanding an answer; he only shrugged. “No, I don’t want it! That’s yours. Part of you. I’ve no right to it, no matter what the bloody legends say.”

2 thoughts on “#AtoZ: N is for Numbers

  1. 😛 Not cool, Murphy, not cool. I guess I’ll have to come back for Z. *sigh*

    And I know that song! 🙂

    Love the excerpt! 😀 So charged in so few words.

    • Teehee! I’d say sorry, but I’m really not. At all. I’m having too much fun. (Besides, otherwise there was no way I was finding a Z post. I’m having enough issues with X!)

      Yay, you recognized it! It tends to get stuck in my head for days at a time. I wrote a snippet about it, actually, but it’s not seeing the light of day until a few books from now, to avoid spoilers. 😉

      Glad you enjoyed it! I’m gonna try to sneak more in where I can. 🙂

Leave a Reply

