Blog Hop / Blog Tag / Impartials and Immortals / WIP / Writing

Again? Again!

In the turnaround of these things, I got tagged by Annikka to participate in the same hop that resulted in her being tagged! Luckily I have a few different WIPs to choose from. So why don’t I blather on about another one?

1) What is the working title of your book?

Night of the Hunter is the second book in the Impartials and Immortals series. You’d think it would be finished since I’m currently working on the FOURTH, but nope. (It’s easier to foreshadow this way. That’s my sticking and I’m story to it.)

2) Where did the idea come from for the book?

Both main characters were introduced in the previous book, The Sharpest Lives, although Emily much more briefly than Ryan. That said, the altercations between them were fascinating to me, and a lot that happened in The Sharpest Lives changed Ryan in a really big way. He’s not at all the same person he was in The Sharpest Lives, and I was really interested in poking around to see how he dealt with things now. So I did. 😛

3) What genre does your book fall under?

I classify the Impartials and Immortals series as urban fantasy or supernatural, with a hit of romance.

4) Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

As I’ve said before, I hate choosing actors to represent my characters. I have my image of them, readers have their interpretation, and you know what, that’s just fine.

5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Seven years changed both Ryan McLaughlin and Emily Halloran in several ways—and now it’s time for them to deal not only with each other but with the coming Tithe with the Unseelie Court.

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Self-published or small press. That entire process, the hands-on aspect, appeals to me more than the agony of submitting query letters only to be rejected countless times before that acceptance. I want my books out there where the people who have asked for them can read them.

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Urk, I should’ve chosen something else knowing this question was coming up. *sigh* I started working on Night of the Hunter as a NaNoWriMo project… in 2010. Yes, you read that right. No, it’s still not done. Almost, though. *crosses fingers*

8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Again: Yes, this is partly a cop-out, but I don’t like comparing books to each other. Readers can decided based on the synopsis whether they’re interested, not based on the comparison to another book. That just leaves too many opportunities for them to be disappointed when the books differ, as they almost inevitably will.

9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Mostly Ryan. He’s always been an interesting character: despite being an immortal who has to kill for a living, he’s quite possibly the most happy-go-lucky, quick to smile and laugh character in The Sharpest Lives. The complete about-face he pulls part of the way into that book and into Night of the Hunter… well, I couldn’t leave him like that, and I knew there was more to Emily than met the eye.

10) What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

It has creepy things? I dunno. I write stories with the Fae in them, but my Fae aren’t the nice, airy beneficial type. The Unseelie are a bloodthirsty bunch, and the Seelie are only good when it serves their purposes.

Screw nice beneficial faeries. The scary as hell ones are more fun.

Leave a Reply

