Blog Hop / Blog Tag / Challenges / Impartials and Immortals / WIP / Work in Progress / Writing

Next Big Thing: WIP Discussion!

Oh hai, shiny new blog! Guess we better throw in a post… I’ve seen this hop around as the Next Big Thing, so that’s what I’m calling it. And because, as always, I run incredibly slowly and never check to see if I’m being chased, Patty has succeeded in tagging me for a discussion on WIPs. What’s a girl to do but plunk her butt down and talk about what she’s working on?

1) What is the working title of your book?
This book is the fourth of my Impartials and Immortals series, and it had been turning round in my head for quite a while before I started work on it. The title is Blood & Fear.
2) Where did the idea come from for the book?
Umm… I honestly couldn’t tell you. It’s just been a part of my writing brain for a long time now. I knew it was coming when I started writing and planning the others in the series; my bastard of an Unseelie King has plans, and they need to be shot down…
3) What genre does your book fall under?
I consider it urban fantasy/supernatural with romance.
4) Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
I hate this activity! I don’t pay attention to actors when defining my characters’ appearance. I have a clear picture of them in my own head, I know how they look, and I leave the interpretation largely up to the reader once I’ve given the basic details. The only one I’ve ever managed to agree on is.. umm.. argh, now I can’t remember his name. Hugh Dancy. That’s it. He could play either Ronan or Cillian, though I like him better as Cillian.
5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
Gwen wants nothing to do with the Tithe, but will find herself leading the way to a Fae war with the other Impartials and immortals at her side.
6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
Self, more than likely, when the day eventually comes. I don’t like having to chase agents/publishing companies to get books out there. I know that people want to read my books. I’ll get them out there.7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
Dude, I just started it on the first. (Yes, it’s a NaNoproject.) Hold your horses a little. It’s currently at 15K already, though…8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
I don’t want to compare. 😛 Any books, I guess, where the Fae are portrayed not as beneficial little fairies but as ancient, otherworldly, freaky as shit beings. I don’t want to name specifics because I feel each book should stand on its own.

Aw man, now they’re mad cause I called ’em fairies.
9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?
This seems similar to question two… but to answer, the characters. They got into my head and wouldn’t shut up.
10) What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
Well, if you’ve followed my novels at all, you know something of the three MCs who preceded Gwen. For me, Gwen is interesting because she’s hands down the most reluctant Impartial ever, and yet gets dragged into a war. Also, her background is different from the others, but that’s a spoiler. ^__^
All right, that’s done! Now the painful part… finding more people to tag! Here goes nothing. I’m going to share the fun with….
2 thoughts on “Next Big Thing: WIP Discussion!

Leave a Reply

