Deep Thoughts / Determination / Long Post / Motivation / Society

Kicking Humanity in the Pants

Sometimes Twitter is a place for fun, games, and silliness with like-minded people. This is fine by me, since the Twitter version of silliness doesn’t cause my IQ and my level of faith in humanity to plummet (like, say, Facebook). At other times Twitter can be a place where actual thoughtful conversations happen, and you know what’s awesome? These conversations, although they may happen between people who have never actually met, are intelligent, respectful of the other’s opinion, and possibly best of all, they don’t make me want to bash my head against the wall like my last Facebook interaction did. (Somehow calling a Hello Kitty backpack childish for college led to a friend’s sister’s boyfriend threatening me and calling me names. Wat? I don’t get it either.)

I had one of those lately, and it made me think. Sometimes when I think, it’s a little goofy, but those are usually the times when I need sleep. I’m relatively coherent now, and so was the conversation. It was a long one but, since I’ve been a little AWOL around here lately, and this really did get me thinking, I figured I’d share the results in the hopes it might do the same to you.

The main thought I was left with is… where the hell has humanity’s motivation gone?

Before you go “Okay, Murph, what have you been smoking?” think about it. Really, actively think about it and tell me I’m not wrong. If you will, allow me to make a couple points for my case:

Look at what our society has turned into. In the information age, we have nearly everything practically at our fingertips. The people whose cell phones are now actually just phones are considered way behind the times. We’re a society of instant gratification, and to fight for or *gasp* wait for something we want is considered madness. I’ve been in a relationship for 26 months now; except for about three and a half months at the start and since about three and a half months ago, it was long distance. You would not believe—or maybe you would—the amount of people who learned this and promptly responded “I couldn’t do that” or “Why don’t you date someone closer?” and were then utterly perplexed when I said anyone can do it if it matters enough. As for the last question? I don’t want anyone closer, I want him, dammit.

We’re now so used to getting everything handed to us that we get wildly impatient over the smallest, most ridiculous things, and it only serves to make us look like idiots. It’s sad, too, because when we get so worked up over the little things, how on earth are we supposed to deal well with the big things? We legitimately seem to have forgotten what it’s like to value anything from a relationship to a hard-earned possession, because either one is so easily disposable nowadays. We have forgotten that the best things in life are the ones we’ve fought the hardest for and were hard-won, because those are the things we have the most reason to treasure.

What do we treasure now anyways? Things. Phones, computers—technology, really. I’m guilty of it too; living six hours from my hometown, my phone is a link to the people I miss. But I also have a family, friends, and a boyfriend I intend to be with for a long, long time, and count myself unfathomably lucky that they continue to be such a vital part of my life. I never once considered dating someone closer. We wanted to be together, so we sucked it up for the two years of long distance. Now that part’s done. But few other people who knew us—remarkably few in our age group—could see that far ahead.

It seems everybody wants the quick fix, and a lot of the time they get it, which is a damn shame if you ask me because it’s contributing to the problem of a lazy, unmotivated and apathetic society. The people who are willing to make an active change in order to better their lives are now seen as the exception, when in another time it would have been the other way around. It saddens me and pisses me off and makes me want to kick humanity in the pants, because I couldn’t imagine not having had to fight for happiness.

Chronic pain conditions are complex. A big part of them is lack of motivation, because who wants to get out of bed in the morning when you know it’s going to hurt and you don’t think you even have the energy? Not me. But I get up and I get on with my day. I’ve gone after what I want. I’ve had to fight tooth and nail for it, but by and large, I’m making it happen and my life is unfolding with me directing my life rather than my life events directing my actions and reactions. I have seen happiness fall apart and leave bitter regret in its place and I am determined not to have that in my life. I have fought and will keep fighting to not fall into the trap of thinking my life should be perfect. No one ever said life was perfect. It’s not going to be.

That doesn’t mean I’m going to make myself into a nervous wreck over it. I’m going to keep moving and I’m going to be happy.

All right, I’m almost done making you use your brain. I just have a couple of questions. What do you treasure? What have you fought for? What motivates you to keep going? Get at me and tell me in the comments!

Cheers,


Murphy

Leave a Reply

