Camp NaNoWriMo / Editing / Six Sentence Sunday / Writing / Writing Vacations

Writing Vacations

On the off chance that anyone follows this blog regularly and noticed the lack of Six Sentence Sunday post this past week, I’d like to apologize. It wasn’t entirely intentional of me, but it was still rude for me to not explain.

I participated in Camp NaNo and had a 50+ day streak on 750 words, and I was starting to feel burnt out. I didn’t like anything I was writing, I could barely rouse myself to write my daily word count, and I was losing interest in the stories I’ve been enjoying writing. Alarm bells were starting to go off. Either way, when a friend invited me to her house for the long weekend (Canada Day, woot), I brought my computer, but I had the attitude that if I should happen to miss my writing, I wouldn’t flip out.

As it turned out, I didn’t take out my computer all weekend. My only contact was through my phone. I not only didn’t flip out when I didn’t write, I embraced it. It felt nice to step back a bit and just breathe and remind myself that I’m still me.

Now, of course, I will have to get back into gear so far as writing goes. But the break helped.

What about you other writers? Ever felt the need to step back and get a fresh perspective on your work?

Cheers,

Murphy

Leave a Reply

