Blog Award / Interview / Questions / Sunshine Award

Sunshine Award!

The idea of me getting a Sunshine Award sounds slightly ridiculous when you take into account the excerpts I usually post. But if you know what type of person I usually am, it might make a bit more sense. Or at least, it made sense to Patricia Lynne, AKA Patty, who nominated me. (And in so doing stole all the people I would’ve nominated… but we’ll deal with that when we get to it.)

The rules to the Sunshine Award are pretty simple:

1. Include the award logo in the post.
2. Link back and thank those that nominated me.
3. Answer 10 random questions.
4. Nominate other bloggers and link them to the award in their comments.

Step one, check. Step two, check. On to step three! I’ve got a mishmash of questions, from guest posts with Lor Rose or character interviews with Patricia Lynne, blog tags I’ve done on my blogs, and questions I asked people to suggest on Twitter. Hopefully you’ll be entertained.
1. Tell us something about yourself?
I’ll be 22 in August; I have an idiot dog named Sage; I was diagnosed with myofascial pain syndrome in November 2011 but am pretty sure my symptoms have increased enough to be called fibromyalgia, which I’m not overly thrilled about. I recently graduated college. I’m a redhead.

2. When did you first start writing?
The first time I actually started writing, I was fourteen and the story was a terrible ripoff of a series I was reading at the time. It makes me cringe to think of it now, but it got me started nonetheless. That said, it wasn’t until November 2009, when I discovered NaNoWriMo, that I started writing what would end up being my first full novel, The Sharpest Lives. The first draft was completed in October 2010. It’s currently in edits, and on a bit of a hiatus while I work on finishing Night of the Hunter and Howl, books two and three of the series that started with TSL.

3. When and why did you decide to publish?
* Aija, the person asking this question, would like it known that by “publish,” she just means letting work be seen.
I’m not sure exactly when. I’ve been posting little tidbits, usually under the tag #shitmycharacterssay or #amwriting, on Twitter for ages. I guess when I first started a blog in December (at least, I think it was December) it seemed like a natural progression to post them there, too. In fact, it got to the point where I created a separate blog to avoid overwhelming a personal blog with writing stuff or vice versa.
As for the why… well, I’m a bit of a vain creature, I guess. There’s no fun in writing if you don’t get to share it with someone, if you don’t get to have them freak out when they reached that plot twist you were so proud of. I like to entertain people with what I write. Just ask Lor; she’s cursed at me frequently, and my usual reaction is to grin maniacally and laugh like a loon.
4. Tell us something about your novels?
They’re set in Ireland, which is probably fairly ridiculous since I’ve never been there, but that’s okay. The books revolve around Impartials and immortals, hence the name of the series. Impartials are in charge of making a deal with the Dark Fae or Unseelie every seven years to ensure that humans won’t be harmed by the Fae. This deal is called the Tithe, and in book one, it hasn’t been bound in years. A group of immortals who don’t want the Unseelie to have their way with the world help bind the Tithe, even though some would call it treason for them to help the humans. Things get more complicated when they start to fall in love with each other.
5. How do you edit your work?
Like my novels, my editing process is very much a work in progress, lol. Currently, my editing process is to go through three chapters at a time, looking for anything I can cut. My main goal at the moment is to get The Sharpest Lives down from a 180K-word beast to something a bit more manageable, and I have a fantabulous group of beta readers helping me out. Once it’s been cut down, I’ll be acting on my betas’ advice and looking at any areas they said didn’t work, while also seeing if there’s anything that I know needs to change.
Hopefully it’ll be a bit more finessed by then. 😛

6. Other than writing, what sort of hobbies do you have?
I like to read–and can hear everyone going DUH, you’re a writer! Besides reading, I spend time with my dog, hang out with my boyfriend and his roommates cracking all sorts of bad jokes, attend Wednesday night trivia at a local bar, collect an absurd amount of notebooks, pens, and Post-It notes, and try to enjoy the life I’ve been given.

7. What is your favourite sock colour?
Most of the time I don’t wear socks, and the ones I do wear have been black or grey lately due to placement or work dress codes. Believe me, not my choice. >.< Left to my own devices, I tend to wear big, fuzzy socks in outrageous shades of pinks and oranges and blues. I also have some wicked striped ones. XD Lately, though, if not barefoot I can usually be found in my slippers. They’re plain black, but they’re fuzzy on the inside and soooo comfy.

8. If you were stuck on a deserted island and had to choose between coffee, vodka and water, what would you take?
Coffee can get off the list right away, because ick. Much as I would love to take vodka to help cope with being stuck on an island, logical me insists I should take the water. So, tell you what: I’ll take the water, and if it happens to get mixed with some vodka, well… I didn’t do it. 😉

9. Gel ink pen, pencil, old-weird-macho business pen?
I’m left-handed, so I don’t use pencils if I can at all help it because they smudge all over the place. As for gel pens, a lot of them are fun to write with, but the ink runs out quickly and is more often than not a semi-fluorescent shade that’s difficult to see. The old-weird-macho business pens are usually insanely expensive. So I just use regular ballpoint pens. I prefer fine-tipped ones, and my favourites are Pentel’s RSVP brand. I luuuuurve them, and they have so many colours!

10. What is currently causing you to ask “WTF?!”
A friend of mine and fellow behaviourist is looking into jobs in her city and discovered that to apply to the local school board, you have to pay to apply. Not only that, but in the case of our program’s graduates, you have to pay, and then you have to be approved by their human resources department before you can actually apply. All I can say to that is WTF kind of screening method is that?!
Now that the questions are done, on to step four: nominations! Unfortunately for me, Patty named most of the people I’d like to nominate, and is one of them herself. >.< Therefore, my list will be a bit small. And, I’d like to second her nominations of Lor Rose and Vicktor Alexander. XD 

Other nominations:
A.K. Marshall: Because she’s always there to make me smile, particularly when it’s health-issue related. And sometimes, the assurance that no, I’m not imagining things, is more helpful than any other remedy. It also doesn’t hurt that she’s freaking awesome, as a writer and a person.
Rachael A.: Because not only will this force her to update the blog she started for her writing group, she’s also hilarious and an excellent writing buddy.
Alexe, who may be better known as chomskyrabbit: Because she provided some of the more hilarious questions I answered above, and she’s my Canadian I-can-actually-say-I-met-her-in-real-life writing buddy. We make each other laugh and we give out hugs when needed.
MJ: She’s happy go lucky, always has a smile or something totally outrageous to say, and has accomplished the dubious task of using my twisted suggestions in her writing. She’s quirky, she’s funny, and she makes an excellent writer’s cheerleader. (She’s also sexcretary to Lor and I, but that’s another story.)
Okay, that’s it for me! Go forth, my little nominees, and spread the sunshine!
4 thoughts on “Sunshine Award!

Leave a Reply

