A to Z Challenge / April A to Z Challenge / Blog Challenge / Challenges / Happy / Life / Optimism / Uncertainty

U is for…. Uncertainty.

Life is a chancy, fickle, uncertain thing. What’s here today could be gone tomorrow, you never know what might happen, etc, etc, and so on and so fucking forth with every cliche in the book.

But you know what? Cliches got to be known as cliches for a reason. Most of the time, they’re true.

Life is uncertain. I could be hit by a bus tomorrow, as the glass-half-empty people like to point out. Personally, I’m more concerned with what’s in the glass (read: will it give me a buzz?) at first, and start worrying about the amount later (like when I’m almost out of rum and I’m not quite as drunk as I’d like to be yet). Drinking analogies aside, the basic point I was aiming to make before I started talking booze is still true. Something horrific could happen tomorrow leaving me dead, destitute (not that I’m rolling in the moolah as is, unfortunate when you consider one of my childhood life goals was to go swimming in my money), or devastated. (Woo, alliteration!)

However…. right now, in this very moment, no matter what happens tomorrow, I am content. My back is sore, yes, and I have less than ten dollars to my name, but I just had two very close friends visit with me for over an hour–probably the last time I’ll see them for a while, what with moving on Sunday–but I’m happy. I had someone I care about visit me, and they brought me Timmy’s to boot (I’m like a man in that you can always make me love you by bringing me edible goodies. If they’re edible and can be put to use in a book or the bedroom, you’ll be my hero. I might even kiss you, which could make you uncomfortable. Sorry in advance for anyone who unwittingly inspires me in the future.)

So I say, calmly and contentedly, I’m okay. Life can keep being its tricksy little self. I’ll manage. I’ll roll with the punches and I’ll stand back up and I’ll be happy.

8 thoughts on “U is for…. Uncertainty.

  1. I just need you to know that I am totally enamored of this post and hadn't even considered Uncertainty for my U. I was flailing around with Universe, which seemed totally unwieldy (which is another U, but an ugly one…which is another U, but…oh, geez.) I've always loved the Buddhist idea of getting comfortable with uncertainty, and I'm going to go ahead and use it for my post…with a large, loud link to you at the top as a thank you for the inspiration ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Wow! Thank you so much! I'm glad I was able to inspire you to that point–truth be told, I wrote it quickly after seeing friends today and deciding, you know what, screw the problems, I'm not doing too badly all in all.I would love it if you either commented to leave me a link or emailed me one ๐Ÿ™‚ I can be reached at lm.murphy@hotmail.ca.

  3. Life IS uncertain. What is certain is that I am in this moment, responding to your post because of the A to Z Blogging Challenge wondering if there is a glass I can make half full somewhere in my kitchen, and I, too, am content.

Leave a Reply

