A to Z Challenge / April A to Z Challenge / Blog Challenge / Challenges

L is for…… Laid Up.

Most of you know that I was sick on Wednesday. Well, yesterday I was back at placement, and while I was still dragging a bit and definitely wasn’t quite back to 100% yet, I was doing a lot better. Today, I thought, would be fine. I felt a lot better than I had for most of the week and thought I could get through the day even if it meant taking a nap when I got home.

Yeah… not so much.

The school I’m placed in is a Catholic school, so they hold their own prayer celebrations frequently, say prayer daily, and regularly attend Mass at the local church. We did that today…. and I passed out.

Yep. Passed out in church, and I’m not even a Catholic. Let the bad exorcism jokes begin!

I honestly don’t know what happened. I’d been a little tired, a little dozy (which, no offense, kinda happens most times I set foot in a church), but hadn’t been feeling that bad. Then I started feeling really warm, overwhelmingly so. My vision kinda narrowed and I felt–tingly. That sounds dumb, but there it is. I remember thinking that I almost felt like I was gonna pass out, and that I really didn’t want to. Then I was coming to and the teacher and EA, who had both been sitting in the pew behind me, were on either side of me, the principal was in the pew behind me asking questions, and the kids were all staring.

Sweet, right?

Strangely enough, my biggest preoccupation once I came to was finding the shoe that had come off my foot so I could act normally. Being stubborn, I didn’t want to leave. I was convinced that if I went home I’d have to make up the time, and after Wednesday’s sick day, there’s no way I’d be able to without staying an extra day, which I can’t since my lease is done the 30th and I’m moving the 29th. So I stayed and kept my head down, trying to steady myself, and when the teacher and EA asked for about the fifth time if I wanted to go and get some fresh air, I finally caved–partially because I thought it might help and partially because I thought I was finally steady enough to actually walk out of the church without collapsing again, although I didn’t mention that part.

The EA told me what happened, since I couldn’t–and still can’t–remember. Apparently I rather slowly tipped over, which made them think I’d fainted–but then I kind of clenched my fists and started shaking violently while my eyes rolled, which made them think I’d had a seizure. Man, was I confused when I came to and they started asking if I’d ever had a seizure before!

They insisted I should go to the hospital, and I was too damn exhausted to disagree after that. It was taking most of my effort just to focus on staying upright and moving. The school’s principal drove me to the hospital (awkward) and told me to call the school when I got out and she’d come get me to take me home.

They shuffled me through triage and into the ER pretty quickly. It’s probably lucky that I was so out of it, because man I hate hospitals, but as it was, I went through the routine of changing into the gown in a numb fog. A nurse came in, put stickers all over me, and ran me through an ECG (which came back normal), then told me the doctor would be in to see me shortly.

I was stuck in a bed, in a gown that bared my ass for the world to see, and I had my own personal call button. So what did I do? I fell asleep. About twenty-five minutes after I woke up, the doctor came in. He had a term for what happened to me, but hell if I can say it. Basically the combination of having been sick, plus the changes in position while at church, messed with my blood pressure and caused what most of us know as a fainting spell.

They weren’t willing to let me leave after I’d been told that, though. They wanted to get me some food and a drink, then see how I was walking before they sprung me. Lucky for me, the cookies the nurse brought me (six of them!) turned out to be Arrowroot cookies. Omnomnomnom. I devoured them, got dressed as quickly as I dared once given permission, and after a chat with a volunteer (who laughed when I said I needed to pee but doubted she could help me with that), slowly made my way up to the nurses’ desk under their watchful eye. I was being ordered to go slow, and I hate going slow. But I did it, because I wanted to be cut loose. 😛

Once they’d told me I could go, I left and called the school, since my asking the nurse “I’m guessing a ride home would be better than the bus or a cab?” resulted in her glaring at me and going “Uh, YEAH.” (And she glared even more when I meekly suggested going back to placement to finish the day.) After an awkward car ride with the principal, who seems to enjoy taking the most circuitous travel routes known to this city, I was home. I slept for a couple hours because I was still exhausted, ordered pizza because fuck cooking, and watched a movie. And here I am!

Moral of the story: I suck at being a patient. Two hours in Emerg and I was itching for freedom. Fellow writers have been telling me to go to sleep all night. Naturally I won’t listen. XD As for work tomorrow… we’ll see. I also planned to go find the boyfriend a birthday present tomorrow, but I’m still a little wobbly, much as I hate to say it.

As for the boyfriend? He was worried.. until I told him about the Arrowroot cookies I’d devoured. Then he said “Yeah, you’re feeling okay.” *snickers*

So there’s my fun story of the day! Even more entertaining–the teacher was telling the students this morning that she doesn’t believe Friday the 13th is an unlucky day, but rather a lucky one. The principal told me as she drove me home that the kids had been demanding “NOW do you believe it’s a bad day?”

Personally, I’m just glad it’s done. 😛 How about you? Are you a bad patient? Or do you like to be taken care of and have your every whim attended to?

Today’s adventure. Whee.
4 thoughts on “L is for…… Laid Up.

  1. One post down, one to go, then BEDTIME! *glares*But L is also for Love, because that's why we were harassing you all evening! ;)I'm kind of in the middle as a patient… I don't really like the attention of being waited on hand and foot, but I don't mind taking the time out to get the rest when I know I need it.

  2. LOL I might be a bad patient too. I've only had one extended stay for my surgery and I was ready to go home before I even got cut into. Plus, after the surgery, when I was allowed to get up, I popped to my feet like a spring and got told to slow down.Well, since you're L post is up, that means it's time for my M post to go up. =D

  3. You're doing better than me. Two hours and I wanted to be cut loose. Volunteer asked if there was anything she could do for me; I made the comment about needing to pee, then added, "I also wanna get sprung, but I don't think you can help with that, either."

Leave a Reply

