Celebratory Snippet / Facebook / Night of the Hunter / Snippet / Teaser / Work in Progress / Writing

Celebratory Snippet!

Okay, okay. I’m a dork. As I said in my last post, I got a few likes on the Facebook page after the Story Dam chat tonight, and it made me all excited, so as a celebration, here’s a random snippet! This is from Night of the Hunter, Book II in the series.

Cheers and thank you,

Murphy

It was late at night when it came. Ryan woke to the sound of chanting, soft and teasing, his own name repeated in an eerie singsong as wind whispered around the house. He followed it downstairs and stood at the window in the kitchen—the same they’d stood at when they’d watched Moira die—and though he could hear the others joining him, he didn’t turn from the window.

The pooka had taken its usual form. The sleek, glistening black horse stood just outside the boundaries created by the house’s wards, its glowing golden eyes shining in the darkness. Its tail switching back and forth, it spoke, in a high, sweet voice.

“Won’t you share your rider? Share her with me?”

His hands tightened on the window sill. He was aware of Emily standing just to his side; he moved one hand ever so slightly and felt Gideon nudge her to stand behind him. “No.”

“No?” The horse’s ears went back. It stamped one foot. “That’s not very kind. Share your pretty rider with me, kelpie. She may like it.”

“No.” It seemed to be the only word he could find. He only knew the idea of Emily on the pooka’s back made his heart feel uncomfortably tight.

“It’s you who harms your riders. I give them only pleasure,” the pooka taunted. “Share, share, share your rider,” it sang, the horse’s head swinging up and down as it spoke.

“No.” This time it was Emily who said it, and she lifted her chin as she stepped out from behind Ryan. Even in her simple nightgown, her hair braided down her back, she managed to look utterly stubborn. “I don’t want what you have to offer.”

“I’ll show you pleasure so great it hurts, while he’ll show you pain that never was pleasure. And you want him?”

“I do.” Her hand reached out and closed over his. He turned his hand over and held on, refusing to let himself wonder about the words she spoke.

“He saw his friend die.” The pooka hissed the words, and now the glow of its golden eyes was not only unearthly but also unsettling. “And he yet carries the scars, while I am whole. And you want him?”

“I do.” Emily’s voice had grown stronger this time.

The pooka’s tail flicked impatiently. “Prove it,” it taunted.

“We’ve nothing to prove to you,” Emily retorted, and Ryan could have swept her off her feet then and there. “I do this because I want to.” She turned to him, rose onto her toes, and in the next moment her mouth was on his and she was kissing him for all their group and a damned pooka to see. And still he found himself powerless to do anything but respond.

An angry whistling noise made them break apart. “There!” Emily shouted, and if there was a slight tremor in her voice, Ryan truly couldn’t blame her. “Are you pleased now?”

The pooka stamped one foot into the ground and began to paw at it. “You’ve brought hell down on yourself,” it warned in a shrill, unpleasant voice. Then it turned and raced away, leaving only the echo of its piercing cry behind.

5 thoughts on “Celebratory Snippet!

  1. Ahhhh!!! *squeaks* Love love LOVE!! Emily is amazing. And fearless. And she and Ryan… love! 😀 (And the pooka, whatever that is, is creepy…) And "I do"!! And that kiss! *flails*

  2. Thank you! I'm particularly proud of the "pain that never was pleasure" line for some reason. A pooka is another Irish fae. They're mostly known for causing mild havoc, scaring hens so they don't lay eggs, damaging property, that kind of thing. Sometimes it takes the form of an ugly little goblin, but usually it's in the form of the horse I described here. Emily is blushing at your last comment, but she would like me to point out that in fact, she was scared out of her wits at the time.

  3. First off, this made me blush and trip over my own tongue, and I'm pretty sure my boyfriend's still laughing at me.Second, thank you so much for that compliment! You'll notice I don't really mention publishing in any of my posts, and that's because at this stage it's not something I'm considering. Would I like to get published, sure. For now, though, it's just writing for me, and for the people who want to read. This snippet is from Book II, but once Book I is done going through editing you're more than welcome to read it!

Leave a Reply

