Deep Thoughts / Geeking Out / Music / The Civil Wars

That Song….

* Points to anyone who knows where I got the title from.

Music has always played a huge role in my life. My dad, though he can’t carry a tune to save his life and though we rarely got along starting in my teenage years (oh God, when did I get old enough to look back on those?), has always been a music fan, and while my mother plays various instruments–everything from the piano to a saxophone to a trumpet–somehow my love for music has always been linked to my dad. We have more similar tastes and we’ve always delighted, even now that I live two hours away, in sending each other songs, or telling each other excitedly about a new artist we’ve started listening to and how much we love their music. 
After my parents divorced, the two households were very different. The sounds of home at Mom’s were of whistling and humming, or of Mom singing whatever song was on her mind as she cooked or did dishes. At Dad’s, it was the stereo. Whether playing the local radio station or a CD–or even a tape in the earlier days–there was always music. I’ve listened to music avidly throughout my life. When writing, I find songs that suit the characters or the plot. I listen to music before I fall asleep at night. Music has comforted and consoled me and uplifted and encouraged me in equal measure. It has made me cry and made me laugh. 
Sometimes, if I’m lucky, I get one of those perfect moments–one of those moments that would be made completely normal were it not for the music accompanying it. Those moments feel surreal and larger than life and are stored away in my mind to pull out on a metaphorical–or literal–rainy day.
And sometimes, if I get really lucky, I discover one of those songs that simply makes you stop in your tracks and listen. The songs that affect body and soul and make you sit down, close your mouth, and listen, completely spellbound. The songs that transport you to another place and have a way of humbling you and stripping you down to the core of who you are until the world around you has ceased to exist.
I stumbled across one of those songs today. It’s hauntingly beautiful. I’ve been posting it everywhere to get people to listen–and I told my dad about it, too.
POISON & WINE || THE CIVIL WARS

You only know what I want you to
I know everything you don’t want me to
Your mouth is poison, your mouth is wine
You think your dreams are the same as mine

Ooh, I don’t love you, but I always will
Oh, I don’t love you, but I always will
I don’t love you, but I always will
I always will

I wish you’d hold me when I turn my back
The less I give, the more I get back
Ooh, your hands can heal, your hands can bruise
I don’t have a choice, but I still choose you

Oh, I don’t love you, but I always will
Oh, I don’t love you, but I always will
I don’t love you, but I always will
Oh, I don’t love you, but I always will
I don’t love you, but I always will
I don’t love you, but I always will
I don’t love you, but I always will
I always will
I always will
I always will
I always will
I always will


So, what are some songs that have affected you? Let me know. 🙂


Leave a Reply

